भारतीय रेल्वे मन्त्री सुरेश प्रभुसँग वीउवासङ्घको भेटघाट सम्पन्न । वीउवासङ्घद्वारा ऊर्जा मन्त्री जनार्दन शर्मासँग भेटघाट । राजदूत उपाध्यायसँग सङ्घका उपाध्यक्ष गुप्ताको भेटघाट सम्पन्न । Indo-Nepal Trade & Transit Issues सम्बन्धमा छलफल सम्पन्न । भारतीय राजदूत महामहिम रञ्जित रेको बिदाई समारोह सम्पन्न । औद्योगिक सुरक्षा बल, सिमराको भवन उद्घाटन । नेपाल विद्युत प्राधिकरण, सिमराका प्रमुख सञ्जीव साहसँग भेटघाट । औद्योगिक ऊर्जा व्यवस्थापन सम्बन्धी तालिम सम्पन्न । सङ्घका अध्यक्ष ओमप्रकाश शर्माद्वारा रिले अनसन कार्यक्रमको उद्घाटन । सङ्घद्वारा भारतीय महावाणिज्यदूत बी.सी. प्रधानको स्वागत कार्यक्रम सम्पन्न ।औद्योगिक ऊर्जा व्यवस्थापन सम्बन्धी तालिम उद्घाटन । सङ्घका अध्यक्ष ओमप्रकाश शर्माद्वारा डाइग्नोस्टिक सेन्टरको उद्घाटन । पर्सा–बारा लोडसेडिङ्गमुक्त हुने । वातावरण सम्बन्धी सचेतनामूलक कार्यक्रम सम्पन्न । सेफर वीरगञ्जलाई चेक हस्तान्तरण
मुल तथा विकास
पीडीएफ मुद्रण इमेल

Origin & Growth

About half a century ago, nobody could imagine or rather nobody had the foresight to foretell the importance and activity hosting-capabilities (it presently displays) of Birganj on the national scenario. It was only a small, undeveloped town with a hard-to-bring-together population of about 10,000. But even at such a stage of its existence, Birganj could not be ignored, as it was the major point for connecting Kathmandu to India - our neighbour in the South. Due to religious similarities between the major populations of both the nations, Indian tourists flocked to Kathmandu via Birganj to pay their homage to Lord Pashupatinath.

The importance of Birganj and the role it played on the economic front of the country increased by the day as major part of the Business supplies of the capital (and regions in its vicinity) were being fulfilled by this town. In the meantime the geographical permissibility gave rise to industries such as -Birganj Cotton Mill, Birganj Glass Factory, Cigarette Factory, Match Factory and various Rice Mills. And Birganj had become the centre for meeting the cloth & garments requirements of the country. This speedy growth of business in the region called for unity to protect and promote the same. Hence, in the year 1944 A.D., the cloth merchants assembled at 'Jeetpur Gaushala' under the chairmanship of Late Shri Dwarka Pd. Maskara. The end of the meeting was the beginning of a new episode and the birth of 'Birganj Cloth Merchants Association'. To provide sustainability to this new organisation, a donation-spree began on the basis of individual sale of the cloth from its members.

These members were sincere and loyal towards their association and so it did not take long for the fund to become sustainable. With this fund many social services were carried out. In 1948 A.D. the first Executive Committee of the association was formed at a meeting held in the 'Old Dharmsala'. It comprised of the following members:

1 Surajmal Tulsiyan - President
2 Brijlal Kedia - Vice President
3 Roop Singh Solanki - Minister
4 Banarsilal Jee - Asst. Minister
5 Jaganath Agrawal - Treasurer
6 Ramjivan Kavra - Member
7 Nathmal Sharma - Member
8 Bansidhar Jatiya - Member
9 Maliram Chachan - Member
10 Surajmal Jee - Member
11 Bilas Rai - Member

In 1957, with the intention of attracting businessmen from other areas, the name of the Association was changed to 'Birganj Merchant Association'. This opened the gates for all the Businessmen who were looking for a common platform to sort out their problems. Mr. Brij Mohan Saraf became the First President of this 'Birganj Merchant Association'. At the Annual General Meeting of the body in 1958, Mr. Jhutharam Khetan and Mr. Babu Lal Agrawal were elected to the posts of President and General Secretary respectively. Under this new leadership the meetings became regular and the relational-ties between the Government and the Business Community became stronger. The Government acknowledged the existence of the Association and called for its representation at the Annual Pre-Budget Tariff Board. It was the result of this acknowledgement that Mr. Babu Lal Agrawal and Mr. Satya Narayan Agrawal represented the Association at the Tariff Board in the years 1958 and 1959 respectively. The people who shall never be forgotten for their priceless contributions towards the proper functioning and upliftment of the organisation are:

1. Mr. Pasupati Ghosh
2. Mr. Dolendra Bahadur Amatya
3. Mr. Rameshwar Upadhyay
4. Mr. Bhupendra Lal Nepali
5. Mr. Raghubir Ramji

With the passage of time, the uprising of diverse business called for a non-discriminatory name of the Association so as to enhance participation of a larger group of the Business Community. And so in 1967, in the presence of Shri Judha Bahadur Shrestha, the President of Nepal Chamber of Commerce and Industries, and under the Chairmanship of Shri Bhakti Das Shrestha, the Association restructured as 'Birganj Chamber of Commerce & Industries'. This name gave room for the attainment of membership by industrialists who till the time were being left aside. The first Executive Committee of the Chamber comprised of the following members:

1 Mr. Bhakti Das Shrestha - President
2 Mr. Damodar Pd. Kayal - Vice Presidnet
3 Mr. Shanker Lal Kedia - Joint Secretary
4 Mr. Chiranjeevi Lal Sarawagi - Joint Secretary
5 Mr. Purna Pd. Lamsal - Member
6 Mr. Hari Prasad Giri - Member
7 Mr. Narayan Bahadur Chipalu - Member
8 Mr.Brij Mohan Sarraf Member
9 Mr.Sunder Bahadur Gorkhali - Member
10 Mr.Ganesh Pd. Sarraf  - Member
11 Mr. Atma Ram Kavra - Member
12 Mr. Subhan Ali - Member
13 Mr. Nand Kishor Agrawal  - Member


Ex. BiCCI Presidents    

Mr. Bhakti Das Shrestha
2016, 2024, 2033
Mr. Hari Pd. Giri
2028, 2031, 2033

Mr. Padma Jyoti
Mr. Chiranjivi Lal Sarawagi
2045, 2048

Mr. Babu Lal Agrawal
2053, 2055
Mr. Satya Narayan Agrawal

Mr. Om Prakash Rungta
Mr. Vijay Kumar Sarawagi

Mr. Ganesh Pd. Lath
Ex. BiCCI General Secretary    

Mr. Chiranjivi Lal Sarawagi
Mr. Tara Samsher Rana
2045, 2048

Mr. Birendra Kr. Sanghai
2051, 2055
Mr. Sushil Kr. Dhurka
2058, 2060

Mr. Om Prakaash Sikaria
Mr. Gopal Kedia
2064, 2066